Arlington Studio: (703) 841-0999 View Map

Testimonials

Read testimonials below from our satisfied clients!

September 2014: “I’ve used the Versa spa here and the custom spray tan services and I have nothing but great things to say about both. My most recent visit was for a last minute, pre-event spray tan (i.e. no room for error), and the owner, Heather, did an awesome job. She picked a color that worked well with my skin tone, gave really detailed instructions on how to maintain it and avoid streaking, and I got lots of compliments at the wedding I was in. It’s a great place to have in the neighborhood, highly recommend it.”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Katie B., Arlington VA

June 2014: “I got a personalized spray tan here. It looked so great and my technician made me feel comfortable even though i was wearing next to nothing as she sprayed every inch of my pale (very pale) skin. Will definitely return!”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Rachel S., Santa Monica CA

April 2014: “I’ve been spray tanning at Fit to be Tan© for many years and can’t say enough good things! The entire team does a great job of listening to what you are specifically looking for when spray tanning and the color is always flattering. I really like that you can send a quick email to schedule the appointment. I have even recommended Fit to be Tan© to all of my friends!”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Lisa L., Arlington VA

February 2014: “Love this place. Easy to get an appointment and the technicians were really helpful when it came to answering my questions and explaining the spray tan process. I never felt like I was being “upsold” additional products or being pushed to buy a package that I didn’t need. I will definitely return here!”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Allison S., Arlington VA

August 2013: “I have to admit I was a bit of a spray tan skeptic before coming to Fit To Be Tan© since my one and only experience with a salon in New York was less than stellar. However, the wonderful techs at Fit To Be Tan© have totally won me over. I have gone here at least 3 times now and always leave with a perfectly even, natural glow. This is my go to spot when I need a tan for a wedding, vacation or just need a little color to feel better. If you follow their guidance your tan will last close to 2 weeks and will fade naturally without any weird splotches or “cheetah” marks. Sign up for their emails so you don’t miss out on any of their awesome specials!”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Eliza R., Washington DC

May 2013: “I just wanted to provide an update – I actually discovered that I am allergic to spray tanning. Without me asking, they refunded me completely and were very honest about me not receiving spray tans in the future because of my allergy. Genesis was fantastic and very kind and understanding throughout the whole process. The customer service is PHENOMENAL and I will continuously refer people to Fit To Be Tan©!”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

C. S., Arlington, VA

March 2013: “LOVED IT! Never had a custom spray tan and had no idea what to expect. The woman who did it was great and made me feel really comfortable… week later the tan is still holding up quite well… would def recommend to anyone!”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Carly P., Arlington VA

October 2012: “What a great experience. Was met by Angela who took care of me, a first timer male, from the start. She explained everything about the experience and as long as you follow the simple guidance, your tan will look fantastic. Very happy with Fit to be Tan®, would recommend to anyone. Buddy’s wedding in Arizona, here I come…”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Jason R., Arlington, VA

August 2012: “I love Fit to be Tan®! They are always pleasant and the technicians are always 100% professional and put me at ease while they are spraying me. I’ve been to both U Street and Clarendon, and have been very happy with all experiences.”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Michele L., Washington DC

August 2012: “The staff was so warm and friendly .. great tan on both my husband and me…”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Tricia W., Arlington VA

July 2012: “By far the best place in the area to get a spray tan. Girls are super friendly and professional, and always do a great job…”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Jen J., Washington DC

July 2012: “… Every person we encountered at this place was really friendly, comforting and fantastic to deal with.”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Kelly M., Reston VA

July 2012: “I have been tanning here since Heather began, I believe. Their product and techs are great!… Keep up the good work, Ladies!”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Kimberly A., Arlington VA

June 2012: “…I thought the person who worked with me was very friendly and she explained everything from beginning to end.”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Erica S., Alexandria VA

May 2012: “This was my first airbrush tanning experience. Needless to say, it looks natural, I feel great, and keep getting compliments! I will be going back for sure.”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Holly B., Arlington VA

May 2012: “I was overall very pleased with the experience and the level of service was incredibly professional. I am super, super pale and was worried that I wouldn’t even recognize myself with any tan at all, but the color that they chose for me (I asked for as light as humanly possible) was perfect.”

Abbey Alison M, Arlington, VA

April 2012: “This was my first experience with spray tanning and I was a little nervous as it was for a friend’s wedding but the staff at Fit to be Tan® were utmost professionals and my experience (and tan) were phenomenal! I would definitely recommend this place.”

Chelsea C, Arlington VA

January 2012: “Being a newbie to spray tanning, I was apprehensive about airbrushing. Not only did Fit to be Tan® walk me through the entire process – pre-tan and on-site instructions and post-tan care – they were incredibly knowledgeable about the service they provide and were able to answer my questions thoroughly.”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Christina V, Alexandria VA

December 2011: “Fit to be Tan® is the perfect place to go before a formal event, before a trip, or just when you want to get that extra glowy look that only tanned skin can provide.”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Jenn S, Great Falls, VA

August 2011: “When you think of self tanning do you think orange, turning out like an oompa loompa from The Wizard of Oz? Think bronze and beautiful. I am fair skinned, have had some questionable moles removed, therefore sunning is out of the question. I gave this a shot and was pleasantly surprised. [My Spray Technician] was patient and informative. The tan turned out even and attractive. Facilities were clean and welcoming. Need I say more?”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

Leslie J., Alexandria, VA

May 2011: “This is a excellent place to get a spray tan. Heather, the owner, is the one who did mine & she was great at explaining things to me; it’s clear she knows what she’s doing & she’s used to making new clients feel comfortable. Plus she was super efficient, I was in and out in less than 20 minutes. I have had spray tans at other locations, and honestly what struck me most about Fit to be Tan® was how clean the place was…”

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan© Page

E D., Dunn Loring, VA

April 2011: “Thank you SO much for your support of Fashion for Paws! My spray tan looked awesome and I felt so confident on the runway thanks to you! Next time I’m in town I’m making an appointment with you! Thanks again.”

Nikki Burdine, News Anchor/Reporter NBC Lex18, Lexington KY

April 2011: “As I look at my perfectly tanned body this morning, I just wanted to thank you for the service. This was the first time I’ve done a spray tan and I love it. It came out great. Your staff is great and they were so nice and explained the process perfectly. Love the dogs too. I recommended you guys already…and I’ll be back! Thanks so much again!!”

Via Email, 4/8/11

Wendy G.

March 2011: “OMG, this new product rocks! The tan looks beautiful and the most natural looking “fake” tan I have ever had. Just wanted to drop you a line and give my two cents. Thanks. Kim”

Via Email, 3/6/11

Kim A.

March 2011: “I got an airbrush tan at Fit to be Tan® two days before my wedding. It was fabulous– my bridesmaids couldn’t believe that it wasn’t a real tan and the one who is local now uses them for special occassions herself. I tried two [other] spray tan places in the months leading up to the wedding but didn’t think they were even/natural enough.”

Via The Knot.com Forums, 3/30/11

RiverFarmBride

January 2011: “I love my tan! The owner, Heather, knows exactly which shade works best with anyone’s skin tone. I was afraid of turning orange, but that did not happen at all! I have an amazing glow and can’t wait to go show it off in Vegas this weekend :)”

Living Social Customer Feedback

December 2010: “Friendly service and great spray tan! The color works well with my skin tone and was evenly applied. The technician made me feel comfortable and was very friendly.”

Living Social Customer Feedback

November 2010: “I just have to say that I LOVE YOU GUYS! I came in Tuesday evening to get my first tan. It is now Saturday and STILL looks fabulous! I am headed to my 20th High school reunion and will look like I have spent the past week in the tropics!!! Thanks a million!”

Katy S.

June 2010: “Heather, thank you so much for tanning me last night. It looks gorgeous! I know it sounds stupid but I feel so much better today being tan. Getting so big when you are pregnant is hard to deal with, but I actually now feel like I have that pretty pregnant glow going on. Thank you a million and the tan is perfect. Perfect color, perfect smoothness!”

Jennifer B, Arlington VA

May 2010: “…As promised by the website, I got a (cheery) response within 24 hours and was able to set up a convenient time to come in.

The directions on the website were easy to follow, and the storefront was less than a five minute stroll from the metro. I didn’t know what to expect when I walked in, but I was put at ease by the friendly receptionist. The waiting room was pleasantly decorated with a large screen TV, various magazines and comfy couches. I was barely four minutes into Pirates of the Carribbean 2 before I was whisked into one of the tanning rooms.

My technician, Kelly, was awesome — she told me exactly what I needed to do and was efficient and thorough and funny. In the end, the tan that would have taken me days on the beach was achieved in 15 minutes.

I’ll admit I was nervous leaving the building — it was a hot day and they had told me not to sweat, whatever I did, and the color I walked out with was what my roommate called “Oompa Loompa”-ish when I got home. But I had been assured the darker color would wash off, and it did, leaving me glowing and happy.

I’m so glad I’m addicted to Groupon, and now to Fit to be Tan® ;). “

Via Yelp.com Fit To Be Tan Page

Juliana C

March 2010: “I just wanted to tell you how wonderfull Kelly and Maren are. You are very blessed to have them working for you. Both of them are so kind, professional and wonderful. Last week was my first time tanning and I had such a great experience with Kelly I bought a 5-pack of sessions. This weeek I got to work with Maren, who was also so wonderful and professional and helped me feel safe and comfortable. As a woman who works with and on behalf of victims of violence your staff’s ability to put people at ease in a situation where they are standing half-naked and vulnerable is a gift!! You should be proud and honored to have them working for you. I definitely will be a long-time client.”

Randi S.

January 2010: “I came in to be spray tanned by Kelly two weeks ago the day before I had a pageant … and it looked AMAZING!!! Kelly is awesome at what she does and definitely knows how to do a ‘pageant tan.’

I love your spray tanning product, and I have used SOOOOOOO many different types of spray tans in the past several years. And your tan is definitely the BEST and most natural looking.”

Competition Pictures of Leslie:
Bathing Suit,
Evening Dress,
2nd Evening Dress

Leslie McConn, Miss Fredericksburg 2009

December 2009: “…[Definitely] better than a tanning bed b/c its custom and she gets every nook and cranny… not streaky at all and doesn’t look like you spent a month in the Bahamas- really nice glow!!”

jenncoyle05

November 2009: “I am practically translucent. Spray Tan was a disaster, real tanning beds dried my skin out, airbrush tan is the way to go! I did one session at Fit To Be Tan® in Arlington two days before the wedding and looked sun kissed. I highly recommend!”

RiverFarmBride

June 2009: “… [Our Tester] was greeted with a surprisingly deep, just-back-from-a-week-in-Rio (or, more realistically, a Dupont rooftop pool) golden glow… The customized hue looked a lot like the natural shade of our tester’s sun-worshipping youth. Which means fair- or dark-skinned clients can get colors that will better match their complexions.”

Express Night Out Review of tanning methods

April 2009: “I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and quick the whole process was. I just took a shower and I LOVE the tan. It looks really natural and not orange at all. The tan is also really even and gorgeous. I love the way it looks right now. Thanks so much and I’ll definitely be back.”

Hayley, Washington DC

March 2009: “My tan looks GREAT! Even my friends who thought my Mystic looked so fake were amazed at how real and natural it looked!!!!”

Craig, Arlington VA

March 2009: “Love love love the tan. The color was just right, and it has brightened my attitude during the last few days when it seemed like the sun was nowhere to be found. Thank You!“

Erin, Washington DC

February 2009: “I can’t say enough wonderful things about Fit to be Tan®!! I’ve been going for almost a year now and am completely hooked. The airbrush tan looks so natural and I get tons of complements. It also feels so much more healthy.”
Google Local Business Review

Leigh

February 2009: “Being from the West Coast where air brush tanning has been around a while, I can absolutely say that Fit to be Tan® is THE BEST! If you haven’t tried air brush tanning- you are really missing out on a great way to get the bronzed look without destroying your beautiful skin. Check it out!”
Google Local Business Review

ELS

June 2008: “Fit to be Tan® is the answer I’ve been looking for!! I have extremely fair, freckled skin and burn very easily in the sun. I’ve always had to start tanning months before spring/summer or special occasions to get that healthy, sun-kissed glow w/out doing damage to my skin w/ sunburns. This sort of timeline wasn’t always feasible or convenient so I began using the spray booths often found in tanning salons. No matter how careful I was or how much I prepped my skin for these booths, I would always come out looking orange and streaky. I’d heard about airbrush tanning via the celeb magazines and thought how wonderful it would be to have something like that available in this area AND on my budget. Heather has made that a reality with Fit to be Tan® . Almost instantly after my first session with her, I saw a gorgeous, healthy, natural looking glow to my skin. Now I can have that fresh from vacation look at a moment’s notice! In addition to giving you such an attractive glow to your skin, Heather gives her clients the convenience of coming to their homes to spray which allows for a more personal and exclusive feeling. She’s highly knowledgeable about her product and the service she offers and is always calling to follow up after a spray. I’ve been telling ALL my friends about Heather and Fit to be Tan®. This is the best answer out there for those that need a quick and natural fix to attain that healthy glow!”

Heather R., Arlington, VA

April 2008: “After using those annoying spray booths at the tanning salon for 3 years and never being satisfied, I decided there had to be a better way of sunless tanning. I had heard about airbrush tanning and how the celebrities used it to maintain flawless, non-UV tans. I was on a mission to find a salon that offered airbrush tanning. However, to my absolute surprise, there were NO salons that offered airbrush tanning services in the DC metro area! So when I finally found Heather, I could not have been more excited! She made the whole process so easy and comfortable. After my first session, I immediately saw a beautiful, EVEN and bronze tan – totally unlike the orange, streaky tans I would get from the spray booth. After the third session, I was completely hooked! I had the most perfect, golden brown tan – just like I had been laying out at the beach all day! I immediately cancelled my account at the tanning salon. I really appreciate Heather’s genuine concern for my personal tanning needs. I have extremely fair skin but I want to maintain a pretty dark tan, and she has truly made that possible. She takes the time to educate me on after-tan skincare and thoroughly answers all of my questions. She even comes to my apartment and sprays me in the privacy of my own home. I’m so excited to wear my bikini this summer and finally stop being so self-conscious about my tan because Heather will make sure it is absolutely perfect!!!!”

Julia, Bethesda, MD